Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
07/05/2013 - 1:36pm

(July 5, 2013)… Former Rochester Knighthawks Randy Mearns and Bill Gerrie will join nine others in the latest class of the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame. The induction banquet and ceremonies will take place on November 9th at the Firefighter's Club in Burnaby, BC.

Mearns played seven seasons in Rochester (1995-01) and still stands as the longest-tenured captain in team history (six seasons). He was inducted into the Knighthawks Hall of Fame on April 10, 2010. The forward recorded 45 goals and 125 assists in 72 games and played in three championship games with the Knighthawks. He was a key member of the 1997 championship team. In 1998, he was awarded the team’s Seventh Man Award. In his professional career, he played nine seasons and collected 214 points (62+152) in 95 games. He won his first title with Buffalo in 1993.

He started his road to professional lacrosse with the St. Catharines Junior “A” Athletics, where he played six seasons from 1985-1990. The pinnacle of his junior career was in 1990, as he led the Athletics to a Minto Cup and Minto MVP honors. In the Major Senior Lacrosse circuit, he played for Brampton, Six Nations, Niagara Falls and Buffalo and won five Mann Cup titles in a row from 1992-96.

In college, he played at Canisius College from 1990-92 and finished as the all-time leading scorer. The former Golden Griffin is currently in his 15th season as the head coach at his alma mater. He led the school to its first ever NCAA tournament bid in 2008. In 2006, he was an assistant coach for gold-medal winning Team Canada at the World Lacrosse Championships. In 2014, he will serve as the head coach of the Canadians at the FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Denver.

Gerrie played for the Knighthawks in 1998, backing up Steve Dietrich and Derek General. Gerrie captured back-to-back Mann Cup titles in 1992 and 1993 with the Brampton Excelsiors. He did one better with the Six Nations Chiefs, winning three straight titles from 1994-96. Gerrie played five pro seasons in the National Lacrosse League, finishing his career with the Knighthawks. He won two championships with the Buffalo Bandits (1992 and 1993).

For additional information please visit the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame website at or contact Tony Glavin, Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame Chair, at (604) 833-7717 or email at

Syracuse men's lacrosse pulls off another one-goal victory, advances to national title game with 9-8 win over Denver

College lacrosse: No easy fix to sport's winter weather woes, but here's one proposal anyway

Syracuse lacrosse players Dylan Donahue, Ben Williams earn ACC Players of the Week honors

Former West Genesee stars Dylan Donahue, John Glesener put on show in Syracuse's win over Army

Syracuse lacrosse goalie Bobby Wardwell firms up starting job after win over Army

Syracuse lacrosse remains No. 3 in media poll heading into top-5 matchup against Virginia

Army coach says faceoff specialist Ben Williams was 'most valuable player' for Syracuse lacrosse

Faceoff man Ben Williams shines again as Syracuse lacrosse beats Army 12-9

Randy Staats throws amazing behind-the-head pass in Syracuse lacrosse's game vs. Army (video)

Syracuse lacrosse vs. Army: Live updates, fan chat

Syracuse lacrosse-Army: TV channel information, live stream and faceoff time

Syracuse lacrosse: Four things to watch for against Army

Former Syracuse lacrosse attack Stephen Keogh takes series of uppercuts to face (video)

Lacrosse weekend wrap: Drexel begins life after postseason breakout

Syracuse men's lacrosse moves up to No. 2 in coaches' poll, No. 3 in media poll (updated)

Syracuse University lacrosse aces defensive test to clamp down on Cornell, 14-6 (video)

Syracuse lacrosse gets hat tricks from Lecky and Staats to rout Cornell, 14-6

Syracuse lacrosse vs. Cornell: Live updates, fan chat

Syracuse lacrosse-Cornell: TV channel information, live stream and faceoff time

Syracuse lacrosse-Cornell will meet for 100th time Sunday: 7 things to know about game

Cornell men's lacrosse opens at Syracuse University on Sunday: 5 things to know about the Big Red